Securely erasing the iPhone

Posted: September 21, 2013

If you are looking to sell your iPhone, or give it to somone as a gift, you should probably ensure that your personal data does not remain on the iPhone. Most would think that a restore via iTunes would take care of this. But it does not! It has been proven more than once, and by more than one person - one of them a programmer with deep routes in the iPhone community, and the other a state police detective using a forensics data retrieval kit built by that same programmer - that your personal data survives a restore. In the case of the detective, he purchased his iPhone via Apple directly (refurbished). This process takes just a few minutes.





You can read more about this process at Apple's support forums here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2110



Launch the Settings application. Then press General, then Reset. Press Erase All Content and Settings.

iPhone       iPhone



Press Erase iPhone. Press Erase iPhone one more time.

iPhone       iPhone



You'll see the Apple logo and a status bar for a minute or so. The iPhone will then display the Hello screen. You're ready to set it up. This process has been greatly improved in iOS 7!

iPhone       iPhone







Return to top of page